Skip to main content

Voices. Knowledge. Solutions.

News Briefs

The SC Department of Disabilities and Special Needs presented its Silver Palmetto Award to the cities of Greenville and Rock Hill at the Municipal Association's 2020 Hometown Legislative Action Day. This award thanks municipal governments for their leadership and actions that support people with disabilities and special needs.

City of Columbia Councilwoman Tameika Isaac Devine was appointed to serve on the National League of Cities' 2020 Board Finance Committee. She was also appointed to serve as the board liaison to the Council on Youth, Education and Families. In 2019, Councilwoman Isaac Devine was elected to serve a two-year term on the board of directors for the National League of Cities. She was also reelected to serve as a member of the Board for Women in Municipal Government and the National Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials.

The SC Business Licensing Officials Association awarded 10 individuals with the Master in Business Licensing designation: Fran Adcock, Municipal Association of SC; April Bigham-Akins, Town of Hilton Head Island; Caitlin Cothran, Municipal Association of SC; Jestin Gilliard, City of Georgetown; Nicole Kindzia, Town of Surfside Beach; Joy Krutek, Dorchester County; Lindsey Newton, City of Clemson; Naomi Diane Quattlebaum, Town of Harleyville; Lakesha Shannon, City of Columbia; and Kathy Teague, City of Union.