Skip to main content

Voices. Knowledge. Solutions.

News Briefs

The cities of Cayce, Greer, Hartsville, Inman, Newberry, Simpsonville and Wellford as well as the towns of Arcadia Lakes, Blackville, Calhoun Falls, Cheraw, Jonesville, Pendleton, Prosperity, Santee and Summerville have been recognized for the Municipal Elected Officials Institute of Government’s 2020 Honor Roll. The Honor Roll recognizes annually the city councils that can count all their current members as graduates of the Municipal Association’s MEO Institute.

The City of Charleston became the first South Carolina city to receive accreditation from the American Public Works Association. This accreditation shows that the city’s public service department is in full compliance with the management practices specified in the APWA Public Works Management Practices Manual.

Lisa Chapman, city clerk/human resources director for the City of Easley, recently earned her Certified Municipal Clerk designation. 

City of Columbia Fire Chief Aubrey Jenkins was elected president of the SC State Firefighters’ Association.