News Briefs

The towns of Blackville, Gray Court, Hollywood, Pendleton, Santee, Summerville and cities of Greer, Inman, Lake City, Union, Wellford have been recognized for the Municipal Elected Officials Institute of Government's 2019 Honor Roll. The Honor Roll recognizes annually the city councils that can count all members of their sitting council as graduates of the Municipal Association's MEO Institute.

Alfred Mae Drakeford, mayor of the City of Camden, was recently appointed to serve as the chair of the National League of Cities Small Cities Council. This council is open to those municipal officials who represent NLC member cities that have populations of no more than 50,000 residents.

The South Carolina Municipal Insurance Trust and the South Carolina Municipal Insurance Risk Financing Fund boards of directors recognized members that reduced their total costs and kept employees safe while delivering better public services. The 2018 Risk Management Services award winners were Town of Fort Lawn, City of Walhalla and City of Greenwood (SCMIRF members) and Town of McClellanville, City of Union and City of Conway (SCMIT members).