Skip to main content

Voices. Knowledge. Solutions.

News briefs

The Greer Commission of Public Works won two awards. The National Association of Clean Water Agencies awarded a Gold Peak Performance Award to Greer's Maple Creek wastewater plant after it met all the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit limits during the 2015 calendar year. The American Public Gas Association honored the Greer CPW with its silver-level System Operational Achievement Recognition for "excellence in operating its natural gas utility."

The Municipal Association of South Carolina hired Caitlin Cothran as assistant manager for collection programs. She is the former city administrator of the City of Landrum.

The SC Business Licensing Officials Association awarded nine individuals with the Accreditation in Business Licensing designation and four individuals with the Master in Business Licensing designation. Earning their ABL designation in June and August: James Absher, City of Lancaster; John Rabon, Town of Springdale; Jane Ciucevich, City of Greer; Dougie Rumsey, City of Anderson; Nicole Kindzia, Town of Surfside Beach; April Bigham-Akins, Town of Hilton Head; Kent Bold, Town of Kiawah Island; Victoria Messina, Beaufort County; and Faith Scruggs, City of Simpsonvile. Earning their MBL designations between December and May: Al Johnson, City of Beaufort; Bruce Seeley and Barbara Wooster, Town of Hilton Head Island; and Michelle Paulchel, City of Cayce. The MBL requires obtaining the ABL designation plus accumulating 50 experience points.