Skip to main content

Voices. Knowledge. Solutions.

News Briefs

​Members of the SC Municipal Human Resources Association recently elected their 2018 – 19 board of directors. They are President Rebecca Mejia-Ward, City of Hartsville; First Vice President Deborah Hargis, Town of Edisto Beach; Second Vice President Terri Hooper, City of Columbia; Member at Large Leonard Lowery, Town of Kingstree; and Past President Dora Perry, City of Tega Cay.

The SC Business Licensing Officials Association recently awarded three individuals with the Master in Business Licensing designation: Victoria Bell, Horry County; Alten Driggers, Horry County; and Scott Lang, City of Easley.

The Town of Summerville won the Outstanding Planning Project, Large Urban category, for its Green Infrastructure Plan by the South Carolina Chapter of the American Planning Association. The SCAPA Planning Awards recognize "outstanding efforts and achievements that advance the art and science of planning." Also, Doyle Best, Summerville's park and recreation director, was recently named president for the SC Recreation and Parks Association.

Verizon ranked the City of Greenville No. 21 in the company's list of the top 50 startup-friendly cities, "Best Small Cities to Start a Small Business Report." Verizon gathered data from nearly 300 cities across the country and evaluated levels of higher education in a city, per capita income, broadband access, loans per capita, travel time to work and other indicators.