Each spring, the Municipal Association accepts award entries from member municipalities. Winners will be honored at the Association's Annual Meeting.

Started in 1987, the program provides local government officials and employees the opportunity to receive deserved recognition for superior and innovative efforts in local government. The program also provides a forum for sharing the best public service ideas in South Carolina. 

2021 Achievement Award winners

  • Population 1 – 1,000: Town of Lowrys
  • Population 1,001 – 5,000: Town of Surfside Beach
  • Population 5,001 – 10,000: City of Hartsville
  • Population 10,001 – 20,000: Town of Bluffton
  • Communications: City of Greenville
  • Economic Development: City of Newberry
  • Public Safety: City of Hanahan
  • Public Service: City of Conway
  • Public Works: Town of Hilton Head Island