Skip to main content

Voices. Knowledge. Solutions.

Municipal Officials

Title Name
Mayor * ** David P. Merchant
Councilmember * ** James B. Blassingame
Councilmember * ** Steven H. Corley
Councilmember * Colin C. Davis
Councilmember * Anthony Gibson
Councilmember * ** Calvin K. Hastie Sr.
Councilmember Gifford M. Shaw

Key Personnel

Title Name
Manager/Administrator Deron L. McCormick
Asst. Manager/Administrator Howie J. Owens
Building Official Woody Avins
Business Licensing Dir Sharon Felder
Chief Judge W. Mattison Gamble
Clerk/Treasurer Linda D. Hammett
Comm/Econ Dir Clarence Gaines
Finance Dir Beth Reames
Fire Chief C. Karl Ford
Human Resource Dir Audrey Shirley Ford
Information Technology Dir Mark Partin
Parks/Recreation Dir B.J. Reed
Planning Dir Helen M. Roodman
Police Chief Russell F. Roark III
Public Information Dir Shelley Kile
Public Works Dir Michael Geddings
Risk Manager William Van Richardson Jr.
Utilities Dir Walter Beard
Lead Attorney Danny C. Crowe

State Legislators

Title Name
SC Senator
Kevin L. Johnson
SC Senator
J. Thomas McElveen III
SC Representative
Fawn M. Pedalino
SC Representative
G. Murrell Smith Jr.
SC Representative
J. David Weeks
SC Representative
William W. "Will" Wheeler III
Street Address

21 N Main St
Sumter, SC 29150-4945
United States

Mailing Address

PO BOX 1449
Sumter, SC 29151-1449
United States

Phone Number
Fax Number
City Hall Hours
M-F 8:30-5
Regular Council Meeting Date
1st Tue/3rd Tue
Sumter County
Planning District
Santee-Lynches Regional Council of Governments
Form of Government
Election Date
1st Tuesday after 1st Monday in November of even years
Election Method
Method of Representation
Single member
Full-Time Employees
Fiscal Year Start