Skip to main content

Voices. Knowledge. Solutions.

Municipal Officials

Title Name
Mayor William Scott Cogswell Jr.
Councilmember Ross A. Appel
Councilmember Ross Appel
Councilmember Stephen Bowden
Councilmember Karl L. Brady Jr.
Councilmember Boyd Gregg
Councilmember William Dudley Gregorie
Councilmember Jim McBride
Councilmember * Robert Mitchell
Councilmember * Caroline Parker
Councilmember Michael S. Seekings
Councilmember Kevin Shealy
Councilmember William Tinkler
Councilmember Perry K. Waring

Key Personnel

Title Name
Building Official Ken Granata
Business Licensing Dir Joshua Drake Richards
Chief Judge Thomas P. Morrison
Clerk/Treasurer Jennifer Cook
Comm/Econ Dir Geona Shaw Johnson
Finance Dir Amy Wharton
Fire Chief Daniel Curia
Human Resource Dir Kay Cross
Information Technology Dir Wes Ratterree
Parks/Recreation Dir Laurie Yarbrough
Planning Dir Robert Summerfield
Police Chief Luther T. Reynolds
Public Information Dir Jack O'Toole
Public Works Dir Thomas F. O'Brien
Purchasing Dir Gary Cooper
Risk Manager Malena Dinwoodie
Lead Attorney Wilbur Johnson

State Legislators

Title Name
SC Senator
George E. "Chip" Campsen III
SC Senator
Lawrence K. "Larry" Grooms
SC Senator
Margie Bright Matthews
SC Senator
Sandy Senn
SC Senator
Deon T. Tedder
SC Representative
Carl L. Anderson
SC Representative
Gary S. Brewer Jr.
SC Representative
Wendell G. Gilliard
SC Representative
Thomas F. "Tom" Hartnett Jr.
SC Representative
Joseph H. Jefferson Jr.
SC Representative
Kathy Landing
SC Representative
Matthew W. "Matt" Leber
SC Representative
Marvin R. Pendarvis
SC Representative
Marvin "Mark" Smith
SC Representative
Leonidas E. "Leon" Stavrinakis
SC Representative
Elizabeth "Spencer" Wetmore
Street Address

80 Broad St
Charleston, SC 29401-2901
United States

Mailing Address

PO BOX 304
Charleston, SC 29402-0304
United States

Phone Number
Fax Number
City Hall Hours
M-F 8:30-5
Regular Council Meeting Date
2nd & 4th Tue
Berkeley County
Charleston County
Planning District
Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments
Form of Government
Election Date
1st Tuesday after 1st Monday in November of odd years
Election Method
Method of Representation
Single member
Full-Time Employees
Fiscal Year Start