The South Carolina Municipal Insurance Trust and the South Carolina Municipal Insurance and Risk Financing Fund programs are member-owned and were established in the 1980s as a response to the lack of stable and affordable insurance coverage for SC cities and towns.

2018 Risk Management Services award winners
Risk Management Services 2018 award winners

Each year, the SCMIT and SCMIRF board of directors recognize members who have reduced their total costs and kept employees safe while delivering better public services.  Award winners are determined based on the municipality's loss experience for the current year and the previous three years. There are three population divisions with one winner in each division. Six cities were recognized during the 2018 Risk Management Services annual members' meeting. The award winners received a $2,500 monetary award.

SCMIRF 2018 award winners
Division I        Fort Lawn
Division II       Walhalla
Division III     Greenwood

SCMIT 2018 award winners
Division I        McClellanville
Division II       Union
Division III     Conway