News Briefs

The SC Business Licensing Officials Association recently awarded three individuals with the Master in Business Licensing designation: Constance McMicheal, Orangeburg County; John Rabon, City of Cayce; and Faith Scruggs, City of Simpsonville. Nineteen individuals received the Accreditation in Business Licensing designation: Kara Belden, Charleston County; LuShanna Brewington, Charleston County; Melissa Brown, Municipal Association of SC; Rebeca A. Brunson, Town of Saluda; Olga Bryant, City of Walterboro; Susan Gainey, Municipal Association of SC; Sherry Griggs, City of Hartsville; Richard Hall, Orangeburg County; Lindsey Haring, City of Myrtle Beach; Mandy K. Hess, Town of Saluda; Joy Krutek, Dorchester County; Scott Lang, City of Easley; Joyce March, Horry County; Jessica Morgan, Town of Moncks Corner; Lindsey M. Newton, City of Clemson; Naomi Diane Quattlebaum, Town of Harleyville; Vi Racine, Town of Irmo; Matthew C. Thomas, City of Rock Hill; and Peter David Wiggins, II, Charleston County.

Angie Overton, clerk/treasurer for the Town of Williston, earned the Certified Municipal Clerk designation from the International Institute of Municipal Clerks.

The 2018 travel editors and readers at USA TODAY's 10 Best Reader's Choice Awards named the City of Lake City "The Nation's No. 1 Best Small Town Cultural Scene." The competition was for cities with fewer than 30,000 people. The voters pointed to Lake City's annual ArtFields festival, Smithsonian-qualified Jones-Carter Gallery and strong festival lineup.

The Town of Mount Pleasant and the City of Rock Hill were ranked numbers 25 and 49, respectively, on Money magazine's 50-city list, "The Best Places to Live in America." The selections factored in economic growth, affordability and quality of life.