News briefs

​Columbia, Greenville, Marion, North Charleston, Rock Hill and Spartanburg were each named a "Playful City USA" community by KaBOOM!, the national nonprofit dedicated to play for America’s children. KaBOOM! created "Playful City USA" in 2007 to help local governments address the "play deficit" by ensuring children have the time and space they need to play.

The City of Hartsville won the SC Community Development Association’s 2016 Award of Excellence for the city’s downtown revitalization efforts.

Members of the SC Community Development Association recently elected their 2016-17 officers and board of directors. President Allison Harvey, Town of Clover; Vice President Carolet Thomas, City of Sumter; Secretary Shannon Munoz, Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments; Member at Large Councilmember Teresa Myers Ervin, City of Florence; Member at Large Keely McMahan, SC Department of Commerce; Member at Large Imma Nwobodu, Greenville County Redevelopment Authority; Member at Large Dirk Reis, Appalachian Council of Governments; Member at Large Jeff Derwort, Lower Savannah Council of Governments; and Member at Large Jessie Walker, Waccamaw Council of Governments.

Mary Brantner, long-time communications manager for the Municipal Association who retired in May, received the Association’s Retirement Service Award. The Association established the award in 2013 to recognize Municipal Association employees retiring with more than 28 years of service.

The SC chapter of the Public Relations Society of America recognized the Municipal Association of South Carolina with first place awards for its history book and website.