News Briefs

Members of the SC Community Development Association elected their 2022 – 2023 board of directors. They include President Shawn Bell, City of Fountain Inn; Vice President Emory Langston, Lower Savannah Council of Governments; Secretary Doug Polen, Town of Moncks Corner. New members at large include Jessi Shuler, Town of Summerville; Joe Smith, Greenville County Redevelopment Authority; Kimberly Mullinax, Lowcountry Council of Governments; and Arlene Young, Appalachian Council of Governments. Returning members at large are Stephanie Smith Derwort, SC Department of Commerce; Angela Kirkpatrick, Catawba Council of Governments; and Frank McClary, Town of Andrews. The past president is Jessie Walker of The Wooten Company. 

The Leadership South Carolina Class of 2022 included Kevin Brown, Spartanburg Water; Brian Carter, City of West Columbia; Cornelius Huff, City of Inman; and Andrew Strickland, City of Anderson. Leadership SC promotes leadership skills and an understanding of policy issues affecting South Carolina. 

In May, Arthur Littlejohn of the Spartanburg Police Department received the Storm Thurmond Award for Excellence in Law Enforcement in the city officer category from the SC Law Enforcement Officials Association.