News Briefs

Members of the Building Officials Association of SC elected their 2021 – 2022 board of directors. They are President J. Shawn Brashear, Florence County; President-elect Chris Stover, City of Greenville; First Vice President Ruthie Helms, City of Greer; Second Vice President Curt Whaley, Florence County; Past President Patrick Brown, Town of Edisto Beach; Central Building Inspectors Association of SC Representative Brent Hawkins, Town of Lexington; Coastal Code Enforcement Association Representative Eric Lutz, City of Folly Beach; Permit Techs Representative Kiawana Tucker, Richland County; SC Plumbing, Gas, and Mechanical Inspectors Association Representative Tony Longino, Greenville County; Upper State Code Enforcement Association of SC Representative Buddy Skinner, City of Greenville; and At Large Representatives Barry Holcombe, Anderson County; and Chris Thompson, City of Myrtle Beach.

Members of the SC Community Development Association elected their 2021 – 2022 board of directors. They are President Jessie Walker, Waccamaw Regional Council of Governments; Vice President Shawn Bell, City of Fountain Inn; Secretary Emory Langston, Lower Savannah Council of Governments; Members at Large Stefanie Smith Derwort, SC Department of Commerce; Barbara Johnson, Lowcountry Council of Governments; Angela Kirkpatrick, Catawba Council of Governments; Frank McClary, Town of Andrews; David Mace, Town of Johnsonville; Doug Polen, Town of Moncks Corner; and Jessie Shuler, Town of Summerville.

The SC Community Development Association awarded its 2021 Award of Excellence to the City of West Columbia for its River District Redevelopment Project. Represented by Tara Greenwood, Director of Grants and Special Projects, the city provided a presentation about the project during the 2021 SCCDA Annual Meeting held on Hilton Head Island.