Risk Management Services Recognizes Graduates, Award Winners

The SC Municipal Insurance Trust and SC Municipal Insurance and Risk Financing Fund recognized 14 graduates of the Risk Management Institute as well as six Risk Management Services award winners during the RMS Annual Members Meeting in November. 
SCMIT provides self-funded workers’ compensation coverage to its member cities. SCMIRF provides all lines of property and casualty coverage, including tort liability and automobile coverage for its members. The Municipal Association sponsors both programs. 

The Risk Management Institute is a continuing education program for municipal staff who have risk management responsibilities and work for cities and towns that are SCMIT and SCMIRF members. 

The new graduates include:
  • Jason Hendrix, assistant town manager, Town of Batesburg-Leesville 
  • Richard Hathaway, battalion chief, City of Isle of Palms
  • Shannon Tanner, fire chief, City of Florence
  • Kevin Cornett, police chief, City of Isle of Palms
  • Joab Dowling, staff sergeant, Town of Port Royal
  • Joe R. House, risk manager, City of Aiken
  • Sandra M. McKinney, clerk/treasurer, Town of McCormick
  • Ashley Balazovich, administrative coordinator, City of Cayce
  • Fran S. Anderson, assistant city manager, City of Abbeville
  • John Griffith, captain, Town of Port Royal
  • Jennifer B. Hayes, public safety sergeant, City of Aiken
  • Mark D. Aakhus, assistant town administrator, Town of Edisto Beach
  • Neil Parsons, director of administrative services, City of Hardeeville
  • Lynn S. Smith, human resources director, City of Conway 
The annual RMS Awards recognize those SCMIT and SMIRF members who reduce their total costs and keep employees safe. RMS determines the winners using each member’s record of loss experience over the previous four years. There are three winners each for SCMIT and SMIRF, based on population divisions. The award winners receive a plaque and a $2,500 award.
The 2021 winners for SCMIT are the Town of Lake View, City of Union and City of West Columbia. The 2021 SCMIRF winners are the Town of Hemingway, City of Mullins and City of Newberry. 

Learn more about Risk Management Services.