News Briefs

Fourteen cities and towns have been recognized as honorees on the Municipal Elected Officials Institute of Government's 2020 Honor Roll. They are the Town of Allendale, Town of Arcadia Lakes, Town of Calhoun Falls, City of Cayce, Town of Cheraw, City of Folly Beach, Town of Jonesville, City of Lake City, City of Newberry, Town of Prosperity, Town of Santee, Town of Summerville, City of Union and the City of Wellford. The Honor Roll recognizes annually the councils that can count all sitting members as graduates of the MEO Institute.

The City of Charleston was named "The South's Best City 2020" by Southern Living magazine, and the City of Greenville also made the list at No. 11. For the magazine's "The South's Best Towns 2020" list, the City of Beaufort came in at No. 2, the Town of Bluffton made the list at No. 9, and the City of Aiken landed at No. 10.

Gregory Saxton, clerk/treasurer for the Town of Awendaw, earned the Certified Municipal Clerk designation from the International Institute of Municipal Clerks.