News Briefs

The City of Rock Hill recently received a 2019 All-America City Award from the National Civic League. The award “recognizes communities that leverage civic engagement, collaboration, inclusiveness and innovation to successfully address local issues.” The City of Sumter was also a finalist in the competition.
Twenty-two cities and towns have been recognized as honorees on the Municipal Elected Officials Institute of Government’s 2019 Honor Roll. They are the Town of Blackville, Town of Calhoun Falls, City of Cayce, Town of Cheraw, Town of Gray Court, City of Greer, City of Hardeeville, Town of Hollywood, City of Inman, Town of Jonesville, City of Lake City, Town of Moncks Corner, City of Newberry, Town of Pendleton, Town of Pinewood, Town of Prosperity, Town of Santee, Town of Summerville, City of Union, City of Walterboro, City of Wellford and the City of Woodruff. The Honor Roll recognizes annually the councils that can count all sitting members as graduates of the MEO Institute.
Members of the South Carolina Association of Municipal Power Systems recently elected their 2019 – 2020 board of directors. They are President Mike Jolly, City of Rock Hill; Vice President Will Martin, Bamberg Board of Public Works; Members at Large Tim Baker, City of Newberry; Robert Faires, City of Seneca; Wade Holmes, Orangeburg Department of Public Utilities; John Young, Laurens Commission of Public Works; and Past President Jeff Meredith, Greenwood Commissioners of Public Works.