News briefs

Members of the SC Community Development Association elected their 2017-2018 board of directors. President Carolet Thomas, City of Sumter; Vice President Shannon Munoz, Pee Dee Regional COG; Secretary Imma Nwobodu, Greenville County Redevelopment Authority. Members at Large Jeff Derwort, City of Sumter; Jessie Walker, Waccamaw Regional COG; Kimberly Herdon, Catawba COG; Martha Whitaker, S.C. Department of Commerce; Mauretta Dorsey, Town of Andrews; Emory Langston, City of Aiken; Shawn Bell, City of Lake City; Past President Allison Harvey, Town of Clover.

The City of Charleston was ranked No. 5 on's list of the six best cities to start a business and No. 25 out of 35 in TechNet's "Next in Tech" metro startup economy index.

The Town of Mount Pleasant won several Hermes Creative Awards for communication projects, including its annual report and e-newsletter.

At the 2017 Municipal Association Annual Meeting, Rock Hill Mayor Doug Echols received the Allison Farlow Award, the highest award given by the Municipal Association to honor a person within municipal government who has contributed significantly to the advancement of municipal government in South Carolina. Rep. Joe Daning (R - Goose Creek) was awarded the Association's Distinguished Service Award, presented to an individual outside municipal government who has contributed to the advancement of municipal government in South Carolina. Miriam Hair, the Association's executive director, was presented the Order of the Palmetto, the highest civilian honor awarded by the state of South Carolina.