​The Achievement Awards program has three main objectives: to recognize innovative projects, to share those projects with other municipalities, and to demonstrate the value of cities and towns. 

Judging criteria

  • Innovation
  • Efficient use of resources
  • Role in the city’s overall vision
  • Effective use of partnerships
  • Quantifiable results
  • Adaptability to other hometowns

Population Categories

(for municipalities with less than 20,001 population)

Use 2020 population figures from the U.S.Census to select the appropriate category.

  • 1-1,000 population    
  • 1,001-5,000 population
  • 5,001-10,000 population
  • 10,001-20,000 population

Judged on written entry only.

Subject Categories

(open to all municipalities)

  • Communications (includes marketing, image campaigns, websites, social media, e-newsletters, local access channels, etc.)
  • Economic Development – Joseph P. Riley Jr. Award (includes community development, land-use planning)
  • Public Safety (includes emergency, law enforcement and fire services)
  • Public Service (anything not covered in other subject categories)
  • Public Works (includes infrastructure projects)

Judged on written entry and virtual, oral presentation.

 2023 Application