News briefs

​Mauldin Mayor Dennis Raines moved up to second vice-president of the Municipal Association's board of directors; Inman Mayor Cornelius Huff moved from his board position to the third vice president; and Aiken Mayor Rick Osbon was selected to fill Huff's unexpired, at large seat.

Eight municipal officials graduated from the 2017 S.C. Economic Development Institute, a collaborative program of the S.C. Department of Commerce and S.C. Economic Developers' Association. The graduates included Sergio Aparicio, City of Columbia; John Stankus, City of Laurens; Scott Tanner, City of Manning; Jerre Threatt, City of Clinton; Liam Kyle, City of Rock Hill; Laura Little, City of Rock Hill; and Brie Logue, City of Columbia.

Sandra H. Woods, City of Fountain Inn, earned her certified municipal clerk designation from the International Institute of Municipal Clerks.

The City of Walterboro received the Wastewater System of the Year award at the 2017 Annual Conference of the South Carolina Rural Water Association.

The City of Columbia has been awarded a 3-STAR Community Rating for national leadership in sustainability by STAR Communities, a nonprofit organization that evaluates the livability and sustainability of U.S. communities.